Dandelion Rice & Walnut Butter
Welcome from my garden! I was outside soaking up a bit of San Jose sunshine while it lasts (what a springtime!) and noticed the overgrowth of dandelions. Remembering a recent blog I read about cooking with this little weed, I decided to give it a try. After all, what is the worst reaction? Death? Gotta give it a try, I'm unemployed, so I really don't see any BAD choices here!! (just joking) Anyhoo, the recipe for sauteed leaves with meat (don't have but am using Jasmine Rice) call for about 4 cups of the weeds. Is it a bad thing that I don't have that many? Who knew? Plucked and rinsed in salted water about 1 cup of leaves, then dumped them into a pot of also salted (hey, recipe called for it and I hate salt but for the sake of research am a willing guinee pig) they boiled for about 10 min, then add onions, seasonings ( chili powder, garlic and herb mix) and saute til done. Had to add more water. but then the mixture look like spinach. Took one nibble, tasty but VERrrry...